Apple Pickin’

September 28, 2009


IMG_0206

What’s a better way to make it feel like fall is upon us than go apple picking? Of course, you can always whip up some of my mediocre pumpkin smoothies as seen below.

I headed to Charlottesville yesterday and made my way over to the Carter Mountain Orchard. My friend Emily’s Nissan Sentra managed to make it up the windy mountain. Don’t let the rocky, narrow, feel-like-you’re-going-to-roll-off at any second road deter you. Once you’re up there you can get the most amazing view of Charlottesville.

But, enough with the scenic stuff, let’s get onto the food — well, apples.

I have never seen so many apples in my life. If I were a homeless person and was starving I would just go live in this orchard. Seriously, it’s huge. Nobody would ever know.

As I picked the apples I could reach I begin to realize that I don’t even like apples, unless they’re in something. Apple picking in itself is a lot of fun, but I now have a bundle of apples sitting on my kitchen counter that will mostly like go uneaten.

Like I said, I enjoy apples IN food. In this case, I enjoyed the Orchard’s apple cider donut and apple caramel cookie.

7024_715536182669_7822245_42207330_6464810_n

The cider donut ($1) comes hot and coated in sugar. The donut is crispy on the outside and cake-like on the inside. The cookie, unlike the donut, had chunks of apple in it. While I couldn’t really notice the caramel I still enjoyed the cookie. I think it would have been better if it took after the donut and was served warm.

Nonetheless, Carter Mountain has put me into the fall season.

Visit the Orchard at their website: http://www.cartermountainorchard.com

IMG_0209

Leave a comment

Filed under Food For Fun

Leave a Reply

