BEYOND

Walk into the new restaurant in downtown Harrisonburg, Beyond, and you’ll feel like you’re beyond the typical downtown scene. See what I did there?

My friends and I originally came to Beyond in order to get a drink. You’re about to see that yes, we got drinks, but we got plenty more.

The Asian-fusion restaurant opened on Sept. 10 right across from Schenk’s bakery. The head chef, Bobby Scheve, is only 23 but he is quickly making a name for himself. His menu has an array of food including a “Soup of the Moment”. When my friend asked what the soup of the moment was our waiter described the sweet & sour soup. We were tempted to ask, “OK, what’s the soup of the moment…NOW?”  Whew, we’re funny.

Dim lighting, gray walls, and a lighted backdrop bar give the restaurant an upscale feel. There is a lofted second floor as well as an outdoor patio. The restaurant was started by the owner of Taste of Thai,Cy Khochareun.

DSCN0968

The bar, which had every seat taken, comes up with some great seasonal drinks. My pumpkin Kahlua drink for $7 was milky without an overbearing pumpkin taste. Think along the lines of a very very liquidy milkshake– in a good way. The drink on the left, the margarita, was accidentally served to our table and we managed to get some sips in before the waiter noticed his mistake. The drink on the right and in the back, was another fall drink with chunks of apples floating around. Come back in December and I’m assuming you’ll see an array of new drinks on the menu. One with mint perhaps?

As far as entrees go, the menu keeps it limited. But, if you’re looking for sushi you’ll find over 15 different kinds.They have their own sushi chef. The White Knight, on the right is stuffed with crab meat, asparagus and  cream cheese. If it’s not an entree or sushi that you’re looking for, then try the assorted tapas. One that caught my eye and I’ll be sure to go back and try was the roasted goat cheese for $6.

DSCN0970

I choose to go all out and my eyes headed right to the entrees. I went with the coffee crusted kobe beef with three potatoes (in one) and green beans for $26. I don’t know if you’re doing the math but I’ll save you the time and just tell you that yes, this was a pricey evening. The meat was cooked medium with a little bit of red on the inside. Ahh perfect. The potatoes were unlike anything I have had before. Bits of sweet potato were layed with the mashed potatoes with au gratin potatoes on top. The green beans were cooked perefectly and sprinkled with chives.

DSCN0969

I finished every bite of my meal, and my friends did the same with their meals. When having such a nice meal I find it a necessity to try the dessert. Even if you feel like you’re going to explode. Complimenting my pumpkin drink (yes, I was still not done with it) we split a pumpkin cheesecake. It was moist with a delicious graham cracker crust.

DSCN0973

Everything about Beyond was perfect from the ambiance to the food. Make a trip over there, even if it’s for just a drink. I’m sure that drink will quickly turn into a meal, and that meal will turn into dessert.

  • Monday-Thursday, Lunch 11am-2:30pm, dinner 4:30-10:30pm
  • Friday, 11-2:30 and 4:30-11
  • Saturday dinner only, 4:30-11
  • Sunday lunch only, 11-3
Leave a comment

Filed under Harrisonburg, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

