Mornings in Paris

Portland, ME is a long way from France, but the atmosphere inside the cafe called Mornings in Paris can make you forget that.

Sitting in the cozy cafe with French decor along the walls, I was ecstatic to see a special drink listed. A cupcake cappuccino. Or a cupcakuccino. The frothy milk laid on top of the sweet coffee that truly tasted like I had just dunked a vanilla cupcake into my cup.

Pastries and desserts are displayed in the large glass case and it’s hard to imagine why anyone would go to the Starbucks or Dunkin’ Donuts around the corner. Don’t get me wrong. I do love my French Vanilla coffee from DD, but a cupcake cappuccino? That’s genius and simply an amazing way to start the morning. Another amazing way to start the morning is with a pumpkin and chocolate whoopie pie.

Fun fact: The whoopie pie was invented in Maine. Some say the Pennsylvania Dutch first started the cake pie, but others say it started in Bangor, ME at a bakery with leftover cake. I’m going to go with the Maine story since it goes better with my blog.

These mini pies were stuffed with cream and the pumpkin one went nicely with the cream cheese flavored filling. Small enough for a few bites, we went back for seconds.The pies here are actually made by a local baker.

Mornings in Paris is fairly new to the area but with a clever menu, warm atmosphere and delicious treats it should be pretty easy for the residents of Portland to say bonjour.

1 Comment

Filed under Food For Fun, Uncategorized

One response to “Mornings in Paris

  1. Hmm I’m not so sure I could start my mornings with a Cupcakuccino every day! BE TOO AFRAID I’D GET FAT! Where’s the best coffee spot everyone’s ever been to?

Leave a Reply

