Buzz Bakery

Hooray for cupcake posts! I was lucky enough to come home on St. Patrick’s day to Buzz Bakery’s chocolate Guinness cupcake. One bite and I knew I had to make a trip to the actual bakery. And so it was done…

Located in Alexandria, right outside Old Town, Buzz Bakery has gained a lot of buzz for their cupcakes. Pastry Chef Tiffany MacIsaac heads up all the baked goods including pies, tarts, brownies, plated desserts, tarts and yes, cupcakes.

Buzz definitely has the coffee shop feel with friends sitting on couches, students studying and customers browsing the web on their laptop ipad.  The selection of cupcakes is not overwhelming like Crumbs.

My friend went with the “Lose Your Marbles” cupcake. Chocolate and Vanilla cake swirled together with a similar frosting to match.

While she finished the cupcake (who would ever waste a cupcake!?), she had her critiques, particularly that the cake was a bit dry. Not unbearably dry, but the kind where when you bite into it crumbs scatter down. I had a similar experience with my cupcake and was surprised because my Guinness cupcake was incredibly moist and dense. Is there anything Guinness can’t do?!

When it came to my cupcake selection, I stayed timely and went with one decorated with cherry blossoms. I wasn’t willing to battle the madness that is the Cherry Blossom Festival in D.C., but I was more than willing to eat something related.

The flavor of the vanilla frosting on top of the vanilla cake had that real vanilla bean flavor. Inside, chocolate ganache filled the cake, although I think they were a skimpy on the filling. Don’t be shy, Buzz.

Researching Buzz a little more, I should mention they are opened from 6 am – midnight…EVERYDAY. They also serve beer, wine and cocktails including “The Lemon Cake” and the Chocolate Martini. When it starts getting warmer I would be one happy girl sitting outside, sipping a martini and if need be eating a pastry.

Oh, and if you’re not a night owl you can join them for breakfast in the morning. Their website describes their breakfast brioche as — “a buttery brioche roll stuffed with traditional breakfast favorite like fluffy scrambled Amish eggs, cheddar cheese and applewood smoked bacon.”  In fact, the Washington Post declared “The best breakfast ‘sandwich’ may possibly be the one made here…”

So, I guess what I am saying is their is no excuse not to try this place.

2 Comments

Filed under Washington D.C.

2 responses to “Buzz Bakery

  1. Jana

    Katie, I’m so glad you finally found Buzz! It’s one of my favorites. I have had several occasions to enjoy Buzz, as my good friend lives up the street. We used to take little toddlers there, as they have a cute Pottery Barn-esque kitchen play area. That breakfast brioche and their egg-scallion-ham or bacon-scone are both Fab!

  2. Wow those look really good. Although they are sell outs — I think Georgetown Cupcakes is still the best out there…what’s everyone’s favorite cupcake spot? Can’t wait to try this one!

Leave a Reply

