Daily Archives: August 4, 2011

Proof

 

Well, this post took awhile to put up, but it’s too good of a restaurant to completely bypass.  Proof is located near Chinatown in D.C. and has had countless reviews raving about the food, service, ambiance and wine. It was America’s good friend Benjamin Franklin that said, “wine is proof that God loves us.” And so Proof got its name.

The chic restaurant has a dark ambiance floors and the bar is decorated top to bottom with wine. To start, I ordered three types of cheese — all of which I would recommend if I could remember which three they were. I recall the roquefort pairing well with both the figs and the honey.

I like to think I’m an adventurous eater, but Proof’s Crispy Pig Head was not the direction I wanted to go for my entree. If you do order the pig’s head please let me know and I’ll try to hide my feelings of disgust! Instead, I kept it somewhat simple and went with the organic chicken stuffed with goat cheese and wild mushroom served on top of polenta and rap. If you have never heard of rapini (which I had not) it is otherwise known as broccoli rabe. Of course the chicken was juicy and the goat cheese gave it that punch of flavor that chicken can often lack.

And of course I couldn’t leave Proof without ordering a dessert. The brioche bread pudding was soft with a not-too-sweet taste. Even better when you get a birthday candle sticking through it too.

Of course I’m going to recommend Proof, everything is perfect about it. My blog serves as the PROOF (ha!) as to how delicious it is, but you should find out for yourself.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Washington D.C.