Pumpkin Ale Cupcakes

I didn’t go to a restaurant this week, but I did manage to incorporate two of my favorite things: pumpkin and cupcakes.


 After having some pumpkin beers leftover in the fridge, I found a recipe which incorporates beer with cupcakes. The recipe was fairly simple. I purchased a box of yellow cake mix, added 2 eggs, a cup of canned pumpkin, some cinnamon and beer.

This pumpkin beer is Trader Joe’s very own — a six pack for $6. The pumpkin flavor in this beer isn’t too overpowering. The recipe only calls for 3/4 of a cup of beer, so you can sip the rest while you bake.

While the cupcakes were baking at 350, I mixed together two cups of flour (you can probably get away with a cup instead), a half stick of butter, a teaspoon of vanilla, chopped walnuts, and 1/4 a cup sugar.

I placed those in the over as well, mixing the streusel every 5 min for about 20 minutes.

I burned a few pieces, so you may be better off cooking the streusel for 15 minutes. While everything continued to bake, I made a simple cream cheese frosting. It included an 8 oz. package of cream cheese, a half stick of butter (softened), some vanilla and a ridiculous amount of powdered sugar. Pretty much an entire bag. Licking the spoon and drinking my beer had me feeling pretty sick by the end.

I stuck the finished frosting in the freezer for a bit too keep it thick. It makes it easier to frost. Once the cupcakes were done baking for about 20 minutes, and the streusel was out, I began to make the finished product.

Once they are all frosted, stick them in the fridge overnight to let the frosting harden a little. The cake was delicious and I think the ale made it moist and airy. The streusel added a nice crunch, but it’s not entirely necessary.

And there you have it! Cupcakes, beer and pumpkin. Don’t you love when it’s fall?

Get the entire recipe here.

1 Comment

Filed under Food For Fun

One response to “Pumpkin Ale Cupcakes

  1. Amanda

    OMG they look SO good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

